TRNC News 27.3.2017 Cyprus talks, President Akinci updates Boris Johnson

President Akıncı updates Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson on Cyprus talks

President Mustafa Akıncı had a telephone conversation at the request of the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs, Boris Johnson, yesterday morning.

During the 25 minute conversation, President Akıncı informed the Foreign Secretary about the recent developments in Cyprus and also assessed the latest developments towards the resumption of the negotiation process, which was halted due to the Greek Cypriot Parliament’s decision to commemorate the 1950 Enosis plebiscite in schools.

President Akıncı outlined to the Foreign Secretary the position and sensitivities of the Turkish Cypriot side in relation to this issue.

E-identity card application for the TRNC citizens living abroad

TRNC citizens living abroad will now be able to apply for their e-identity cards from 8 new representative offices  following efforts by the TRNC Interior Ministry.

As well as the TRNC Istanbul Consulate General and the Ankara Embassy, overseas citizens will be able to access the electronic system, which enables the e-identity card application, at the TRNC’s London, Mersin, İzmir, Brussels, Rome, Abu-Dhabi, Berlin and Baku Representative Offices, with the cooperation of the TRNC Interior Ministry and TÜBİTAK.

Citizens will be able to apply to the Representative Offices for the e-identity cards and the applications will be sent to the TRNC for approval.  Afterwards e-identity cards will be sent to the countries where citizens live after all processes have been completed.

Ersoy elected as Secretary General of the European Peace Research Association for a third term

Associate Professor Dr. Metin Ersoy from the Eastern Mediterranean University (EMU) was elected Secretary General of the European Peace Research Association (EuPRA) for the  third time, continuing its regional activities within the International Peace Research Association (IPRA).

Associate Professor Dr. Daniela Irrera from Catania University in Italy was elected as the new President of EuPRA.

Daniela Irrera (Italy), Metin Ersoy (TRNC), Vidar Vambheim (Norway), Unto Vesa (Finland), Stephanie Thiel (Germany), Hendrik Bullens (Germany), Olga Vorkunova (Russia) and Enika Abazi (France) will serve on the new Board of Directors from 2017 to 2019

Associate Professor Dr. Metin Ersoy, who is currently an Assistant Professor of Journalism at Faculty of Communication and Media Studies of the Eastern Mediterranean University, has been EuPRA’s Secretary General since 2013. This is his third term representing EMU in the international academic environment.

Source: TRNC Public Information Office –

To read more news and information from the TRNC Ministry of Foreign Affairs, please click here

Pictures shown are courtesy of the TRNC Public Information Office Facebook page.