Girne win again in the Creditwest North Cyprus Cricket T20 League

Girne win again in the Creditwest North

Cyprus Cricket T20 League


Cricket lovers had spent the week checking the forecast, looking up at the rain clouds and hoping last Sunday’s first round matches of the new Creditwest North Cyprus Cricket T20 League would create lots of captivating entertainment.

Karşıyaka Football Stadium played host for the first time, its small boundaries made an ideal venue for all four teams big hitting batsmen. Perched on the side of the mountains, it not only drained quickly making play possible but as those sitting in the packed stand said it’s hard to imagine a prettier back drop to a game of cricket.

The morning game saw Cyprus All Stars from Lefkosa open on a low bouncing wicket as the artificial pitch took time to settle down. A stylish 39 from Mitho didn’t get any real support and the side were bowled out for 60, but 24 wides from Famagusta wayward fast bowling helped the final total to 90. Knowing the teams, Mike Roberts predicted the Warriors would only need 10 overs to knock the runs off, but with huge shots from the off, Said Azam 37, Zia Ullah 18 and Yusue Artin 17 saw them home in only 8 overs. An emphatic win, giving Famagusta 30 and Cyprus All Stars 5 League points.

Famagusta Warriors bowling against the Cyprus All Stars, with umpire Kevin Hosford

Famagusta Warriors bowling against the Cyprus All Stars, with umpire Kevin Hosford

After lunch the Near East University team won the toss and put the experienced Girne into bat. Worried murmurs could soon be heard from the City’s supporters as a painfully slow 15 were scored off the first 5 overs. With a target having been set by Captain Sharzadof 130 runs, the last 15 overs would need to be hit at around 8/over. The team responded with Rehmat’s well struck 52, supported by aggressive knocks from Naveed 15 and Sharzad 15, despite wickets regularly falling, by the 20th over 144 was on the board.

T20 cricket is a fast game which has strict time limit of 85 minutes/innings. Despite warnings from umpires Keith Lloyd and Nigel Holman, the NEU had taken 6 minutes longer than allowed and one of Girne’s batsmen took 2 minutes extra to be ready, resulting in 18 and 6 penalty runs, with the difference of 12 runs being added bringing Girne’s score to daunting 156. Some thought this was harsh, but as TRNC Cricket Communications Manager Ian Fell said, T20 is designed as an exciting fast format and the Association doesn’t want games to drift on boringly,

The Near East University set about their target explosively, with 34 coming off the first 4 overs, needing 7.8/over they were going at 8.5/over, Talha’s 14 and Faisa’sl 12 brought them back into the match. League organiser Danish Afridi explained Girne’s strength has always been its bowling. Imran, Sajad, Janwalli, Jawad, Rehmat and Sharzad shared the wickets that then began to tumble, the final one in the 12th over with 96 scored. This gave NEU 9 league points and Girne 30.

Creditwest North Cyprus Cricket T20 League


Team Played Points
  1 Famagusta Warriors 1 30
  2 Cyprus All Stars 1 5
  3 Cyprus Lions 0 0
  1 Girne 1 30
  2 Near East University 1 9
  3 Taşkınköy 0 0


Round 2 of the League is on Sunday 29th March with games Cyprus Lions taking on the Cyprus All Stars and Girne against Taşkınköy. Girne’s wicket keeper Tad Haigh, still smiling after his earlier amazing low catch told us, before the League started he tipped the Cyprus All Stars and Girne to make the final on 10th May, but with the surprise result of Famagusta winning, he said he’s retiring from making predictions.

The Association’s Nigel Holman, has asked if anyone is interested in umpiring or scoring, even if they haven’t done it before to contact him on 0533 8248999 or email

To read more of the Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus Cricket Club on Facebook click here or on their website click here.

Girne winning team

Creditwest North Cyprus Cricket T20 League

Team Scores In Detail

Cyprus All Stars


Mohsin b. Hussain 1
Bilal b. Wajeeh 8
Mitho b. Wajeed 39
Saddam b. Wajeed 0
Faisal LBW b. Ullah 5
Aun LBW b.Ullah 0
Firdous b. Hussain 1
Zaffar LBW b. Hussain 0
Rizwan b. Amin 1
Arshad LBW b. Amin 0
Rashid Not Out 5
Extras 30
Total 90


Famagusta Warriors


Sohail Khilji c. Amin b. Firdous 6
Saud Azam Not Out 37
Omer Iqbal Run Out 9
Zia Ullah c. Amin b. Mohsin 18
Yusuf Aun c. Aun b. Aun 17
Ibrahim Not Out 1
Extras 7
Total 95

Famgusta won by 6 wickets



Tad Haigh c. Faisal b. Alam 2
Rehmat b. Khan 52
Naveed c. Tajamel b. Alam 15
Bilal b. Tajamel 6
Sohail Run Out 8
Sharzad Run Out 15
Wajad b. Alam 2
Jawad Not Out 6
Sajad Run Out 0
Jan Walli Not Out 0
Imran DNB
Extras 39
Penalty Runs 12
Total 156


Near East University


Talha b. Imran 14
Faisal b. Sajad 12
Addullah b. Imran 7
Solail b. Jan Walli 0
Nouman b. Jawad 6
Munfib b. Jawad 4
Hussian b. Jawad 6
Dyog b. Rehmat 10
Sarmad Alam b. Sajad 9
Tajamal b. Sharzad 0
Addul Rediman b. Sharzad 0
Extras 26
Total 95

Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus CricketGirne won by 61 runs