Ozanköy Cricket Club win the 2017 Spring Creditwest Cricket League final

On Sunday 21st May, the Gentlemen of Girne lost their match against The Ozanköy Cricket Club and the Gentlemen of Girne failed to qualify for the final. The Lefkosa Legends and the Ozanköy Cricket Club then went head to head for 2017 Spring Creditwest Cricket League final.

The Ozanköy Cricket Club and Lefkosa Legends celebrate a great match

Legends Captain, Muhammad Haseeb winning the toss elected to bat first. Lefkosa Legends openers, Slaman Khan and Muhammad Abid made a very sensible start with 45 runs in 5 overs with a loss of no wickets. The most important partnership from Lefkosa Legends was from Salman Khan who scored the first ever “Century” (101 runs) with a help of 9 sixes and 6 fours, Legends Captain, Muhammad Haseeb 7 runs, Bazid 13 runs and Shabir Ahmed who scored a useful 11 runs and it was a brilliant finish and defendable total of 208 runs in 20 overs from Lefkosa Legends.

In reply, to 209 runs target, The Ozanköy Cricket Club opener didn’t start well and it was Muhammad Bilal who walked to the pavillion in the  3rd over with only 19 runs and after that Osman scored 31 runs, with help of 4 sixes and 1 four and Gaffar 24 runs with the help of 3 fours and 1 six,

But it was not over for the Legends, Idress from Legends struck the first wickets, in the 3rd over and that was the time when they came back into the game, and Ozanköy was in trouble with 80 runs in 10 overs with a loss of 3 wickets. Slowly and gradually the Ozanköy batsmen brothers,  Muhammad Irfan scored 31 runs with the help of 3 sixes and 2 fours and Muhammad Imran scored 38 runs with the help of 3 sixes and 3 fours.

Best bowler Shahzad Malik from Gentleman of Girne And best batsman Salman Khan from Lefkosa Legends.

That was the turning point and match winning partnership. It was a thrilling match and a joy to watch. Ozanköy batsman, Muhammad Imran hits Legends bowler’s deliveries brutally and completely took the game away from the Legends. The Ozanköy Cricket Club then went on to win the final by three wickets in 18 overs and became the new champions for Creditwest 2017 Spring Cricket League.

The new Creditwest TRNC Cricket season will start in September 2017,

For more information go to Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus Cricket Club Facebook page click here or Contact Chairman of TRNC Cricket Association Danish Afridi.

Telephone: 0548 890 4835 or email

The Ozanköy Cricket Club and Lefkosa Legends receive their cups from Chairman of the TRNC Cricket Association, Danish Afridi


2 replies »

  1. Its good to see new teams are coming strongly and TRNC Creditwest Cricket league is getting harder. Once again Congratulations to Ozankoy Cricket Club.

    • It is great to see cricket in the TRNC growing in popularity Danish Afridi and that is as I result of your leadership and the support of the teams and their players and we all look froward to more great cricket with the start of the new season in September..