New Procedure for foreign nationals to obtain TRNC driving licence


Minister of Public Works and Transportation Tolga Atakan signed a notice on 17 April 2018 ordering foreign citizens who arrived to the TRNC as students, or reside in the TRNC through obtaining work/residency permits, to take a written and practical exam to be able to change their driving licence with that of the TRNC.

According to the notice, citizens of Turkey, EU member states, Switzerland, Norway, USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand and Japan will be exempt from the new practice. Foreign citizens excluding those who are citizens of the mentioned countries will have to make an application to the Licence Branch of the Traffic Department and pass required exams in order to be able to change their driving licence with the corresponding licence provided by the TRNC.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.