The TRNC DRIFT championship starts


By Ahmet Abdulaziz …..

The 2018 TRNC Drift Championship, organised by the Otomobile Club, started with  the first race of the season at the 2.5 km long Famagusta Drift Park.

The race was conducted by Ms. Niall Gunn, Antanas Kygoulis and Olaf Commis who are also the referees in Drift GP race, which is one of the important European drift organisations.

The race was contested by 24 participants, who put up the best of their abilities. Unfortunately three of them, who had also won the previous championships, failed to reach the top slots.

Akay Akbil and Erdoğan Aşık competed in the last race.  Akay Akbil, who ultimately emerged the winner, won 2,000TL.  Aşık won the second prize of 1,000TL.  The third prize of 500TL went to Özgem.